Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav

Search for the Shadowman

Cover of Search for the Shadowman

Search for the Shadowman

Borrow Borrow Borrow
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes Search for the Shadowman from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.

Twelve-year-old Andy Thomas isn't thrilled with his teacher's assignment to explore family history. But when he starts asking questions about his ancestors, he is surprised to discover a black sheep named Coley Joe Bonner. No one wants to discuss what happened in the family's past. Everyone, including Andy's own relatives, advises him to stop his investigation. But Andy continues and searches everywhere, from the Internet to the local cemetery, to discover the truth. Will Andy's search hurt those he loves or make them realize that it's never too late to seek social justice?

"A riveting tale of suspense set against a background of fascinating historical context." --School Library Journal

"Hints of disgrace and treachery...children will read the story for the fun of guessing who is warning Andy off the case." --Booklist

From the Trade Paperback edition.
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes Search for the Shadowman from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.

Twelve-year-old Andy Thomas isn't thrilled with his teacher's assignment to explore family history. But when he starts asking questions about his ancestors, he is surprised to discover a black sheep named Coley Joe Bonner. No one wants to discuss what happened in the family's past. Everyone, including Andy's own relatives, advises him to stop his investigation. But Andy continues and searches everywhere, from the Internet to the local cemetery, to discover the truth. Will Andy's search hurt those he loves or make them realize that it's never too late to seek social justice?

"A riveting tale of suspense set against a background of fascinating historical context." --School Library Journal

"Hints of disgrace and treachery...children will read the story for the fun of guessing who is warning Andy off the case." --Booklist

From the Trade Paperback edition.
Available formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Subjects-
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
    4.9
  • Lexile:
    780
  • Interest Level:
    MG
  • Reading Level:
    3 - 4

Recommended for you


Excerpts-
  • From the book

    An Excerpt from Search for the Shadowman The minute the bell rang in history class the next morning, Mr. Hammergren
    asked, "How many of you have begun your interviews with relatives?"

    Lee Ann Dooley waved a hand. "I can't! My grandma in Florida just got
    married again and is off on a honeymoon. And my grandma who lives in a
    rest home can't remember much of anything."

    "Then ask your parents if they've heard any of your grandparents' stories.
    Go back as far as you can. Maybe your family history will begin when your
    parents were children."

    "Everyone else has grandparents." Lee Ann's lower lip curled outward.
    Her glance fixed on J.J. "Or even a great-grandparent."

    "Tell you what," Mr. Hammergren said. "I'll let you borrow my grandmother.
    She won't know any stories about your family, but she can tell you about
    riding streetcars when she visited the big city and canning vegetables
    and making jam and sewing all the clothes for a family of six girls..."

    Luke Martin raised his hand. "I've got a problem, Mr. Hammergren," he
    said. "When my mom's father was young, he got in a fight and went to jail.
    Mom said under no circumstances could I put that in my report."

    "I certainly don't expect you to include every single family story you
    discover," Mr. Hammergren said. "Record the best. Make your report interesting.
    And remember that it's better to leave some things out of the report."

    "Like the mystery man." Andy realized he had spoken aloud when some of
    the kids turned and looked at him.

    "What mystery man?" Lee Ann asked.

    Andy carefully gave his explanation. "He's one of my dad's relatives,
    from way back in the eighteen hundreds. His birthdate was listed in the
    family Bible, but then his name was crossed out. My great-aunt Winnie
    first said he never existed. Then she told me not to ask questions about
    him because she wouldn't answer them."

    "Then I'd suggest you forget this mystery relative," Mr. Hammergren said.
    "This report is not intended to cause family problems."

    But Andy's mind was on Coley Joe. He wasn't about to forget him.

About the Author-
  • Joan Lowery Nixon was the author of more than 130 books for young readers and was the only four-time winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Best Young Adult Mystery Award. She received the award for The Kidnapping of Christina Lattimore, The Séance, The Name of the Game Was Murder, and The Other Side of the Dark, which also won the California Young Reader Medal. Her historical fiction included the award-winning series The Orphan Train Adventures, Orphan Train Children, and Colonial Williamsburg: Young Americans.

Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Random House Children's Books
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Bookshelf to manage your titles.

×

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Bookshelf?

×

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are permitted to recommend at this time.

×

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

×

Enhanced Details

×
×

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

×

Permissions

×

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

×

Holds

Total holds:


×

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Bookshelf.

×

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

×

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Bookshelf.

×

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

×

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

×

×

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

×
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Search for the Shadowman
Search for the Shadowman
Joan Lowery Nixon
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the same privacy policy as the library or its service providers.
×
×

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

×
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel